Manfred Trojahn: “Orest”

Manfred Trojahn has composed a new opera for the Nederlandse Opera Amsterdam: Orest, a music theatre work in six scenes, was premiered on 8 December 2011 in Amsterdam in a production by Katie Mitchell with set designs by Giles Cadle. The conductor was Marc Albrecht. In Orest Manfred Trojahn reappraises the myth of matricide in a libretto of his own. The central character of the drama, Orestes, is a sufferer who attempts to emancipate himself from the power of the gods. He oscillates, according to the composer, between heteronomy and the vision of a new life.


Photo: Manfred Trojahn, Orest
De Nederlandse Opera, Amsterdam 
Hermann & Clärchen Baus 


Manfred Trojahn
Orest. Music theatre work in six scenes

Premiere: 8.12.2011 Amsterdam (De Nederlandse opera), conductor: Marc Albrecht, production: Katie Mitchell

Cast: Orest (baritone), Menelaos (tenor), Apollon/Dyonisos (high tenor), Hermione (soprano), Helena (soprano), Elektra (mezzo-soprano) – 4 high and 4 low male voices, 6 female voices off stage: 4 S, 2 A (+ 6 violins), broadcast into the hall via loudspeaker

Orchestra: 3 (2 picc, a.fl), 2,, heckelphone, 1,, 2, c.bsn – 4,3,2, c.tbn – timp, perc (3) – 2 hp – str.

Publisher: Bärenreiter, performance material available on hire - BA 9793